Students celebrating Spell Bowl

6th Grade Boys Basketball

These teams are available to sixth grade students only. These teams will practice several times a week and compete in a 10 game season against other schools in the area. There is a $50 fee for this team.

For more information, please contact jbeeghly@hse.k12.in.us at (317) 594-4320.

6th Grade Girls Basketball

These teams are available to sixth grade students only. Try-outs will begin in December. These teams will practice several times a week and compete in a 10 game season against other schools in the area. There is a $50 fee for this team.

For more information, please contact Samantha Kieres at skieres@hse.k12.in.us.

Best Buddies

An international organization founded by Anthony Kennedy Shriver, Best Buddies is a club that fosters friendships between students with intellectual and/or developmental disabilities (IDD) with those that do not. Students are paired up and responsible for spending time together at school during lunch, River Time, and/or other times that work well with the student schedules inside and outside of school. Organized events occur monthly as an entire club including Recreation Days, Movie Days, Craft Days, Basketball Games, and activities organized at locations around Fishers. Look for a Call-out Meeting for parents and students at the beginning of the year. We'd love to have you join us and make some new friends!

For more information, please contact Samantha DeKruiff at sdekruiff@hse.k12.in.us.

Choir

Do you have a love for music? Join the choir! There will be a fall and spring session, each 6 weeks long. The first concert of the school year will be in November. The choir will perform in the spring musical.

For more information, please contact Wendy Holsman and Lisa Finn at wholsman@hse.k12.in.us.

Cross Country

This fall athletic team meets after school and practices until 4:00pm. Runners will run a variety of courses ranging from ½ mile to 1 ½ miles in distance. There will be a meet at the end of the season.

For more information, please contact Shelley Brown, Missy Quinn, Barbara Glenesk at bglenesk@hse.k12.in.us.

Dance Club

Dance club is an audition-based group for 5th and 6th grade boys and girls who love to dance. Students will learn many styles of dance and have fun preparing routines which will be incorporated into the RSI musical and also be shared at one RSI sporting event. Auditions will take place in December. Those who make the team will have rehearsals in January and February.

For more information, please contact Wendy Holsman and Lisa Finn at lfinn@hse.k12.in.us .

Drum Club

The Drum Club practices several different instruments including mallets, guitar, drums- including the tympani, gong, recorder (soprano, alto and sopranino), small percussion (guiro, cowbell, shekere, agogo bell and maracas) along with many more. Character education (the values of discipline, respect, and unity) is also a big part of being in this group.

For more information, please contact Wendy Holsman at wholsman@hse.k12.in.us.

Healthy Hawks

Healthy Hawks is a training group that prepares students to run the Geist 5K or the Geist Half-Marathon. Students will be given a training program lasting about 16 weeks. Running will be done at school and home. Healthy Hawks is open to all students.

For more information, please contact Johanna Kitchell at jkitchell@hse.k12.in.us.

Math Bowl

Math Bowl is a fantastic club for both fifth and sixth graders. If you are a great problem solver and marvelous mathematician, you should join Math Bowl! We will work in teams of three to solve challenging math problems as we prepare for statewide competition in March! Call outs will be after Fall break in October.

For more information, please contact Lisa Wright at lwright@hse.k12.in.us.

School Musical

This year’s selection will be announced in December. Students should prepare an audition piece if they would like a speaking or singing part. The musical is performed on the Riverside Jr. High stage.

For more information, please contact Wendy Holsman and Lisa Finn at wholsman@hse.k12.in.us.

Science Bowl

Science Bowl is available to both fifth and sixth grade students. If you are interested in the world of science and enjoy experiments and problem solving, try out for the Science Bowl Team! The team will work both individually and in teams to study various science topics and explore different scientific themes! Science Bowl try-outs will be in mid- October. If you are invited to participate on the Science Bowl team, practices will be held for an eight week span starting in November.

For more information, please contact Ross Wolfe at rwolfe@hse.k12.in.us.

Soccer Club

Fifth and sixth grade boys and girls of all skill levels are invited to participate in Riverside Intermediate's Soccer Club. Enrollment will be limited to the first forty students.

For more information, please contact Kevin Johnson and Dave Bradley at kejohnson@hse.k12.in.us.

Spell Bowl

Members of the Spell Bowl team will participate in try-outs in September. The team will consist of 12 members. The Spell Bowl Competition will take place in November. This club is for both fifth and sixth grade students.

For more information, please contact Christian Hamm at chamm@hse.k12.in.us.

Student Council

Student Council elections will occur in September. Members will take on different leadership roles serving our school and community. They will meet in the mornings twice a month.

For more information, please contact Aaron Gutwein at agutwein@hse.k12.in.us.

Tennis

During the months of April and May RSI will offer tennis. Practices will be after school until 4:00. Fifth and sixth grade boys and girls will have an opportunity to sign up for tennis. There will be two sessions that include a competitive and noncompetitive group. Each group will be instructed on the proper tennis technique and form. The practices will include drills, instruction, conditioning, games, and match play. Due to the number of courts, participation will be limited to the first 25 students who sign up for each session.

For more information, please contact Jeff Foutty at jfoutty@hse.k12.in.us.

Track

RSI will offer intramural track during the spring season. Practices will be after school until 4:00. There will be 2 track meets at the end of the season. Each student will be allowed to participate in up to three events in the first intra-squad meet. Events included are the 1600m, 800m, 400m, 200m, 100m, 400m relay, long jump and high jump. The top 3 in each event at the first meet will then participate in the tri-meet with Fall Creek, Sand Creek Intermediate and Hamilton Southeastern Intermediate. Students will be coached in the proper techniques and strategies.

For more information, please contact Shelley Brown, Shawn Humphrey, Ryan Setterlof, and Kevin Johnson at rsetterlof@hse.k12.in.us.

Yearbook Club

The Yearbook Club will design the Riverside Intermediate School Yearbook. Members will help design and choose the content and artwork that will reflect the memories of our school year.

For more information, please contact Sabrina Rogers at srogers@hse.k12.in.us.